the best is yet to come

Sometimes I wish my brain would get on the same page with my schedule. Last night Graham & I headed to one of Lexington’s best coffee shops after dinner to do some writing. Since we both like to write. And blog. And drink coffee. It works 😉

Except my brain wasn’t working. Of course it would be tonight. When I should be in bed.

Oh well.

Yesterday I took myself shopping at Target for a while (as if I need to spend ANY more money, but my bed needed bedding. I figured that was pretty crucial 😉 ).

And I found this:

thebest

I came this close to not buying it, because well, I’m pretty cheap when it comes to buying things like this because they can be made so easily. But it was the first thing I saw while shopping and it stood out to me. I had already begun feeling so overwhelmed at the prospect of everything that needs to get done in the coming weeks. And making yet another transition.

Of packing mine & my girls’ lives into cardboard boxes for the second time in six months.

But I saw this phrase painted on that piece of wood. And it reminded me of two of my favorite verses during this season of change, of healing, and redemption.

11 He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet[a] no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. -Ecclesiastes 3:11

See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland. -Isaiah 43:19

So I bought the piece. It was worth the $$. I want to see this reminder always. Because I am sure there will be days to come when I forget. When I let stress, and fear, and worry, and pettiness creep into my heart, and I need to remember…the best is yet to come.

God is doing a new thing.

I am moving out of this apartment a different girl then when I moved in. I moved in defeated, broken, with my life in pieces and feeling as if I’d be this way forever. I am leaving still with scars. No one escapes life without those. And yes, at times I still feel defeated. But I have learned that spirit does not come from above. HE is making my life into something beautiful despite my mess. And I am beyond excited about that.

Praise the Lord, my soul;
all my inmost being, praise his holy name.
2 Praise the Lord, my soul,
and forget not all his benefits—
3 who forgives all your sins
and heals all your diseases,
4 who redeems your life from the pit
and crowns you with love and compassion,
5 who satisfies your desires with good things
so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s. -Psalm 103: 1-5

Bless our God, O’ peoples! Give Him a thunderous welcome! Didn’t He set us on the road to life? Didn’t He keep us out of the ditch? He trained us first, passed us like silver through refining fires, brought us into hardscrabble country, pushed us to our very limit, road-tested us inside & out, took us to hell and back; finally he brought us to this well-watered place. -Psalm 66: 8-12

I am excited to move out of here. I am excited to see what’s next. Excited that the girls will have a yard again. We can draw on the driveway with sidewalk chalk. Faith has a place now to ride her jeep, Zoe has a place to practice her walking. I will no longer wake them both up just by turning on the coffee pot. No more fire alarms going off when I want to make pancakes 😉

And at the end of the day, I can turn on the fireplace, snuggle up with the ones I love most, and be thankful 🙂

And…if anyone feels extra giving this week, we could use prayers for a smooth move. Pray that our transition is a smooth one. That my ladies feel settled into their new spaces. That any feelings of being uprooted yet again would be diminished by the excitement of having THEIR OWN ROOM!! That I will maintain my sanity in the midst of moving chaos. And be able to still balance working full-time hours, and now managing not one but two house payments. Oh yeah–PLEASE. Pray for a buyer for the old house. It is currently the thorn in my side 😉

G’night ya’ll! Till next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

