half-marathon prep day 1

Ok, so it’s not really day 1 because I have already been running and ran a few 5K’s. But today is the first day I am actually documenting my run. I want to keep track of my progress. I like looking back and seeing how far I’ve made it.

Today’s run was at one of my favorite parks in Lexington. It has a track that runs around the perimeter with a distance of 0.88 miles. On one hand, I hate knowing how far I’ve run when I’m in the middle of it, but on the other hand, it kind of motivates me knowing my progress en route.

I meant to head out the door extra early, to try to get a good start before the sun was really warming things up. But like always, I wasted time 😉 The girls & I did manage to get out the door though in a respectable time frame, so I can’t really complain.

What I ran today:

* Distance: 4.29 miles

* Pace: 14:18/mile

* Duration: 1:01:29

Today was my best distance EVER. My pace was slower (but apparently when trying to increase your mileage you don’t want to simultaneously be trying to increase speed as well!). Today was a long run for me, and so I ran it slower at a pace that I could carry on a conversation with. It took me an hour because I had to stop just a couple times–my Spotify shut down (and I’m not motivated as much to run without music!), I had calf cramps so I stopped to stretch out my calves, and those sorts of things added up.

I am learning a bit more about my running habits. I have figured out that somewhere between my first & second mile of running, I am always tempted to quit. I can rationalize it in my mind so easily. My calves hurt too much. I’m too pressed for time. It’s too warm outside. Too windy. There are excuses every where, for every situation, and we will find them if we are looking to justify our actions.

I am also learning how to not give in to those excuses.

Today I kept running. Partly because I didn’t want to feel the sting of disappointment I’d feel in myself if I didn’t make it to 4 miles. Partly because I had Map My Run going and I like the satisfaction I get from seeing improvements in my running. Partly because I like how my mind just wanders when I am running. I contemplate so many things when I am out there alone. I like it when my pace falls in sync with my music (that one’s crazy, I know 😉 )

And then there was the cute little old man with the cane. He would raise his cane in the air every time I made another lap and give me a thumbs-up. I could squeeze him up he was so stinkin’ cute 🙂 There was another cute little old man who counted my laps each time I went around the track. It sort of kept me motivated having them cheer me on.

And then after I finished running, my dear friend Colleen who is the Executive Director of the Spina Bifida Association of KY (SBAK) and was my lifesaver during my pregnancy with Zoe, messaged me to see if I’d be interested in running the Derby Half for Team SB. OF COURSE!!! I do have to do some fundraising, so don’t be surprised to see me on here begging ya’ll to show some more love to my sweet Zoe and sponsor the half marathon. Just get ready. Besides, the proceeds go to support both the SBAK and the national spina bifida association. Good causes to empty those pockets to 😉

So there’s that. I am off to bed feeling pretty satisfied with my progress. I have almost six months to go before my first half, and I feel more confident now that I will be ready. And my mind is already cranking…if I am able to run two half marathons in 2014, maybe I could manage a full in 2015?

Guess I shouldn’t jump the gun though. Let’s do this first. Heard this quote from my favorite person in the world and loved it, so I’ll share…”don’t anticipate, just participate.”

Just enjoying the run, ya’ll.

One thought on “half-marathon prep day 1

  1. Love this! And conversational pace is the perfect pace. I listen to music while I run too (rap music…guilty) and if I couldn’t sing or rap the song haha, then I would slow down! And mile 1-2 is my hardest as well. I feel like once you get to three your body just kind of goes into cruise mode! Good luck on this, but don’t be too hard on yourself, that’s when it isn’t fun anymore!!

Leave a Reply

