picking up the pace

I’ve posted on and off about how I love to run. Even though I’m not really good at it. Graham is an amazing runner. Anyone who can run a half marathon just for the heck of it on their daily morning run is pretty amazing. If someone drew out cartoons of us running…this would be Graham (except with WAY cooler running shoes šŸ˜‰ )

cartoon runner

Making it look easy šŸ˜‰

This, however, would be me (with the crazy wild hair too! Although maybe NOT matching pants and shirts šŸ˜‰ )

cartoonme

The fact that he can run that easily, combined with how much I love to run (& a little encouragement doesn’t hurt either!), is pushing me to try to move past my running complacency.

So I signed up for not one, but two half-marathons next year. Run the Bluegrass and the Derby Half Marathon.

Over the summer I lost quite a bit of my running ability. Prior to summer I ran three almost back to back 5K’s and was doing pretty good for someone who just started running this year. Once I got moved to Lexington and the summer heat & humidity, combined with the chaos of being a full-time working single momma, plus trying to build a house and get settled, running sort of got pushed to the wayside.

It was easy to come up with excuses. I’m tired. It’s too early. I don’t have childcare. It’s too hot. You name it and I probably used it as an excuse šŸ˜‰ Then I signed up for two half marathons sort of on a whim–one at Graham’s encouragement that I could actually FINISH it, and the other as a freebie thanks to my awesome employer. And THEN I realized my pants were getting too tight. Literally. So that did it.

I am for real hitting the ground running.

Last week I ran a total combined mileage of 7.92 miles. Not bad to just be getting back into things. Now, mind you, my time wasn’t great. I ran slow. But I LOVED it. It feels lately that I am always struggling to stay ahead, keep my head in the game, and I feel I have become quite good at multi-tasking. So I am pretty darn proud of the fact I managed to get in 7.92 miles last week.

This week–I am aiming for more. I have blocked out time from work for ME. To just run. I have three days on my schedule this week that I have time allotted to run. I decided I’d blog about it, because, hey, once you put something out in cyber space that’s sort of like automatic accountability, right?

So this week I plan to log my mileage and time. I am not aiming to finish either half marathon in a specific time frame. Sure, I’d love to have a respectable time but I find it respectable just to finish the darn thing in the first place. So there’s that.

Happy Monday ya’ll. And happy running!

Leave a Reply

