we’re BACK!!

Disclaimer: stop here if you don’t want to see a ton of pictures of chunky babies, chubby cheeks and cuteness. You’ve been warned.

Tonight I am sitting in a huge bed..well, a king-size, but to someone who’s been sleeping in a double since the spring because her king-size bed won’t fit in the apartment, it feels huge 😛 And my sweet Zoe is sleeping right beside me tonight 🙂

She & I are in Nashville tonight for her annual check-up at Vanderbilt Children’s Hospital tomorrow. It’s kinda weird timing that we are here, and it’s been almost exactly three years to the day that I was here and she was born.

My goodness, how much has changed in three years!

Of course, the obvious has changed. The divorce, the move, the house building, the new relationship, the new job…the new start. God truly does make all things new & beautiful and it never ceases to amaze me on a daily basis how far He has brought us. I can’t even begin to imagine what lies in store for us because I am sure it is pretty much unfathomable at this point, but in a good way 😉

But check out how my sweet Zoe has changed in her three years…

meandzoeday1

Yep. That’s the first time I got to really hold her and squeeze her up. She was a day old and had just had her first surgery. I can still remember that very minute this picture was taken, and that sweet new baby smell.

zoehalloween

We managed to bust out of the NICU just in time for Halloween. And you know me…we HAD to dress up. Zoe got not ONE, but TWO costumes. Costume #1–pumpkin.

zoenurse

Costume #2–my old baby nurse outfit. Yep–I wore that back in the day 😉

She became best buds with Murphy (whom I miss like crazy & if I did have one regret, it might be that we gave him up. But I made the best decision I could at that time so I can’t hold onto that one!)

zoemurphy

Then she busted out that amazing grin of hers that just wraps everyone around her little finger. Not to mention who could resist those chubby cheeks!

zoechubs

And I have loved watching the sweet way my ladies love on each other…

sweetbabies

And now…here we are. Three years later. How far we have come. Yes–we still have plenty to work on. It used to drive me nuts when someone would tell me “Oh you have your hands full.” But now, I know it’s true. I do. But what parent doesn’t? And I am thankful my hands are full and that God has blessed me with such an abundance. And who cares if some of that consists of physical therapy, extra appointments, developmental delays? At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter. Life is not a race to see who finishes first. We are taking the scenic route and I am 100% okay with that.

Besides…look at this sweet baby. How could you ever want anything more? She loves life more than anyone I know, and her resilience, persistence, and motivation have pushed me beyond who I was before I knew her, to be more than I ever thought I could be.

zoecoloring

We spent our return to Nashville coloring…

zoeinbed

Playing in our big bed…

meandzoe

and snuggling & taking Nashville self-ies 😉

Can’t believe my girl turns 3 next week. I couldn’t be more proud of this kid if I tried.

One thought on “we’re BACK!!

Leave a Reply

