weekend recap

I have decided lately that I feel like a gypsy. But in a good way, I suppose. Currently I am in the process of preparing to move…AGAIN! This time, though, the move isn’t that far. Just on the other side of town and I might not even have to rent a moving truck thankfully.

I am tired of moving. I am ready to settle down. To fall into a routine. To find comfort in the mundane.

I find it hard to believe that we are nearing the holiday season & the end of 2013. Middle of September already? 2013 has been such a year for me–I like this quote by Charles Dickens as I think it pretty much sums it up for this year…

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way…

This was my year. The worst of times. And then just as quickly as the worst of times had dumped themselves upon me, things began to look up. And kept looking up.

And now, I am ready for the next step. To finally plant myself somewhere, and begin life on this new journey I never imagined I’d be on, but now wouldn’t trade for the world.

I have slowly been adjusting to the girls spending some nights with John. It has (and continues to be!) an adjustment for me. I am not used to it and am not sure that I ever will be, but I am trying to learn to love time away for myself. I am thankful my girls have so many people in their lives that love them and want to spend time with them, but selfishly on my end I just want to scoop them up and keep them in my arms forever.

Friday I was driving the girls to school, and Faith (love her heart, she has such good insight for a 4 year old!), said, “Don’t worry mommy, I’ll miss you a little, but I’ll come back. I’ll always come back.”

Agh!! Talk about stealing my heart 🙂

I have been very busy in the time the girls are gone to their daddy’s however. Graham so sweetly has made sure of that. This weekend we had big plans.

Antique mall shopping. I love scoping out good deals on cool old things. The weekend before I found an awesome piece at a shop called Crazy Daisy’s in Louisville. This sweet little dresser will be perfect in Zoe’s room…

dresser

LOVE the huge knobs on this piece, and the off-white look of the wood.

Later in the week, I stopped in at the Peddler’s Mall in Richmond, and picked up some cool cabinet doors that had been refinished and distressed into chalkboards. Will be perfect in the rec room for the girls!

chalkboard

The chevron piece laying under the chalkboard is a magnet board…

chalkboard

Graham & I checked out a new Peddler’s Mall in Lexington Friday, but didn’t find much. Many of the booths there looked more like a refuge for things from the tv show Hoarder’s. Although, the place was HUGE and we only made it through half. I didfind some cool distressed wooden window panes I halfway contemplated buying, but wasn’t completely sure what I’d do with them (if anyone has any creative ideas I want to hear them!) 🙂

Saturday, though, was the BEST. Graham & I had tickets to the big Kentucky/Louisville game. My first game at Commonwealth Stadium! I was SO incredibly excited. The day couldn’t have been any more perfect than if I had sent a specific request to the big guy upstairs myself. Beautiful weather, football, my favorite company (minus my ladies of course 😦 ), a beautiful drive to Versailles to eat at this awesome place called Wallace Station, checking out the newly installed hardwood floors at the house, a decent run at the park, appetizers & desserts at Saul Good’s (my recommendation–the chocolate chip cookie–baked in an iron skillet–YUM! 😉 ).

THIS, folks, was our game-day view. And I understand your jealousy. They were SWEET seats…

Field

Right on the 50-yard line folks. Couldn’t have been better.

And of course, no day would be complete without a self-ie. Yes–I am one of those people. But hey, I think it is totally possible for a couple in their 30’s to take a self pic without looking like idiots. I think we did a pretty good job…

1236636_10101012907572312_1801087901_n

In my efforts to not be paying on furniture and home decor forever, I am picking up a few shifts at The Little Clinic. Working a Sunday isn’t my favorite, but it is only temporary and lets me not stress so much about dumb things like having two house payments & buying new furniture.

In a few hours, I get to go pick up my ladies, get some snuggles and kisses, eat some pot roast (thanks Mom!), and get the three of us ready for the week ahead. And I hope this awesome weather continues. I am about ready to haul the ladies (& Graham!) off for a trip to the orchard. And create some Halloween costumes. And watch scary movies. So.many.plans.

So there’s my weekend in a nutshell. Perfect.

Brought to you by boredom at work 😉

One thought on “weekend recap

  1. Love your blog! As far as the window panes go, I saw a little shop in Atlanta, GA that attached little flower pots to the bottom of the pane and planted a reaching ivy plant in it so the ivy would encase the pane as it grew, so rustic! I fell in LOVE with them! They were meant to be placed in a garden or such, but personally I would even keep them inside to create a “faux window” for maybe a room that only has one window. Glad you had such a good weekend!

Leave a Reply

