finally friday

Ever had one of those weeks where it seems like one crappy thing after another keeps knocking you down, and at some point you just realize there’s really no point in trying to get back up until it’s all said & done, so you just lay there and take all life is throwing at you, because really? What else can you do?

This was me this week.

I’d say this pretty well sums it up…

Frazzled-yet-Faithful-first-page-pic

And this one too…

vector-of-a-stressed-cartoon-man-walking-through-a-nasty-rain-storm-with-an-umbrella-by-ron-leishman-26048

And finally…

442270-Royalty-Free-RF-Clip-Art-Illustration-Of-A-Cartoon-Female-Driver-With-Road-Rage

(Yes–I may have given out a few extra horn honks this week ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )

Two sick kids. Heavy work schedule. Ridiculously long pediatrician waits. Monsoons. A broken dishwasher and a utility door that wouldn’t shut (although I learned if I hit it really hard it shuts. Who knew!!). And (preface by saying–I LOVE MY KIDS!), but this was not the week for them to not want to get dressed in the morning. Or eat breakfast (unless it’s spaghettios!). Or not want to bathe, sleep, flush the potty, or get in the car. (Can you tell I am totally venting here ;))

This week, I was reminded often of one of my new favorite scripture verses. I would find myself feeling impatient, overwhelmed, frustrated and downright irritated–at what are really minor things–but when you dump ’em all out at once they feel like giant things.

So I quoted this verse to myself a lot from Psalm 61:2…

From the ends of the earth I call to you,
I call as my heart grows faint;
lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

My favorite line is lead me to the rock that is higher than I. Because rocks are solid. Unshakable. Even when everything around me feels like it’s crumbling (ok–maybe that’s a bit dramatic considering I’m talking about rain, sick kiddos and traffic. But you get the point!).

I made it through the week. Still sane (relatively). I didn’t lose my temper, point anyone to Jesus from my car window, or say too many words under my breath I shouldn’t. I call that success ya’ll.

AND…it’s Friday. Which means time to put work aside and have fun. Speaking of, I have recently re-entered the dating world status-post divorce. And it’s a whole new world compared to dating as a teenager. But it’s nice to have a relationship with honesty & maturity & Jesus instead of all the teenage craziness I remember. I have said before God has been very gracious to me, and He continues to do more in my life (& my girls’ lives) than I have ever dreamed would be possible. He is faithful.

If anyone needs me this weekend I’ll be hiking the mountains of Red River Gorge with this amazing guy…his name is Graham (HINT…you click this link over to his blog). Now you’ve been introduced ๐Ÿ™‚

One thought on “finally friday

Leave a Reply

