the house

I realized recently I hadn’t been by to check the progress on my house. So today after church, we loaded up & went to see what was up. And my goodness, was I surprised. A week ago we barely had footers.

Today…we have a house!

20130602-205424.jpg

20130602-205451.jpg

I was so excited to pull up & see this! This house symbolizes so much for me. A new start. New memories. Independence. Not just for me, but for Zoe. She will be able to access everything she needs in this, regardless of what her abilities may be.

Currently in physical therapy Zoe is working on walking with a walker. Those of you who have followed our journey on my blog since her birth know that milestones for Zoe (& almost all kiddos with SB) come later than typical. Zoe is my little rockstar & yes, she loves trying to climb stairs, but since I had the opportunity to start fresh & the resources to do so, why not go ahead & just build, prepare for the future & be amazed at what God will do in our lives.

The outside of our house will be a combo of stone, brick, & cedar shake. My front porch is a great size, & will have cedar columns. The main floor plan is all on the first floor. It is an open floor plan. I had our builder widen halls & doorways, just in case. If nothing else, it will help Zoe as she navigates the house walking with her little walker.

My flooring choice was hardwood throughout. I did decide however to go with tile in the bathrooms & mudroom, & carpet in the bedrooms. My living room & master bedroom will have tray ceilings. My floor plan had a formal & casual dining built in. I didn’t really think I needed both, but I kept it as an option just in case. I did, however, add French doors & a pocket door to close off the formal dining, & I plan to just use it as a rec room for now. I can always convert it back to formal dining later if I need to.

The girls will each have their own room, & they have a Jack & Jill bath they will share. I made some upgrades to their bathroom to make it fully accessible for Zoe if she needs it to be. I changed out the standard tub for a walk-in shower (which I wanted to tile, but that will have to wait. Gotta stick to the budget πŸ™‚ ).

The living room is an awesome size, & my favorite thing is going to be the fireplace. It will sit between two windows that look out into the backyard. I can already see myself curled up there in the winter, snow falling, coffee brewing, & the fire going!

And I cannot wait!

My master bedroom is going to be glorious πŸ˜‰ After the way 2013 started out, I decided I would go all out to create a space that can be my personal retreat. My master bath will have both a jacuzzi tub & a stand-up shower which I decided to upgrade & have tiled. There are two walk-in closets…his & hers but for now…mine πŸ˜‰

I am completely excited about my kitchen! This will, by far, be the nicest kitchen I’ve ever owned. It is open to the living & dining room. Has an awesome bar that overlooks those areas! I upgraded to stainless appliances. Haven’t chosen cabinets yet but that is next on my to-do list.

Also downstairs will be mudroom, laundry & a full guest bath. There will be an upstairs extra bedroom & access for another full bath. I debated on cutting this out for some time. It added more expense obviously, & I know for the majority of the time this space will be empty. But…by leaving it out, it meant we would have no additional rooms. No space for guests. No extra storage besides the attic. No room for growth.

And so…I kept it & I bet it will be framed this week!

The house overall is at a great elevation. There will be one, maybe two steps leading from the porches inside. My back deck will run almost the full length of the house which will be awesome for grilling & hanging out outside. I also have a few trees back there that I am very interested in hanging a hammock between.

I am amazed at how far & how fast things have moved in just a few short months. If you’d told me in January that by springtime I would be divorced, with a new job, moved to Lexington & building a home on my own I’d have laughed in your face & said NO WAY. Everything.single.thing in my life right now is new. But new is good. I don’t think change is something to fear. I think God uses change in our lives to make us better. More like him if we will allow him to.

Our new house will be finished this fall. I love our apartment, but it will nice to be HOME. I’m trying now to live more day to day. Because life changes so fast, I don’t need to speculate what’s going to happen, because to be quite honest, God always does things totally different than I think He will. But every.single.time in hindsight, I am glad He did them His way, not mine.

So for now, the girls & I are just enjoying watching our new place go up, & excited about what amazing things God will do in our lives inside what will be these walls!

20130602-213924.jpg

20130602-213957.jpg

20130602-214029.jpg

20130602-214057.jpg

20130602-214116.jpg

Leave a Reply

