all things new…

I hate moving. I seriously think I would rather have a root canal than pack, load, haul & unpack ever again. At least all that loading & lifting is a decent workout πŸ™‚

If I have ever been tempted to consume energy drinks (which I can’t really say I have!), the time would be now. In addition to getting the girls & myself moved and settled into our new apartment, I have been busy wrapping up things at my current job, while at the same time completing the mountains of credentialing paperwork required for my next. Thankfully, I can finally see a light at the end of this crazy tunnel, and so onward we go. I have to admit, with each day that passes I am becoming more and more excited about this new journey I have found myself on.

The big move into the apartment went well. I believe when life really gets crazy, you truly find out who your support system is. I am thankful mine apparently is much larger than I ever imagined. The outpouring of support, prayers, & babysitting offers has been tremendous during our transition. It makes it so much easier on the harder days–when all the packing, moving, seeing empty closets and thinking of old memories seems to weigh heavy. To log into facebook (seriously–what did we EVER do without social media πŸ™‚ ) and see encouragement from friends–some halfway across the world, and family is truly amazing.

My family (which–I am pretty sure I have the BEST btw), all pitched in and helped me get moved. We got it accomplished in only a matter of hours. Nana & Papaw very graciously have kept the girls so many evenings for me so that I can unpack, organize, and my favorite–decorate. Our new place is feeling like home–even if it is only temporary.

Speaking of temporary–I AM excited about one more move coming up in the fall. The move into our new house! The ground has been broken, and the footers are about to be laid. My apologies to all my Pinterest friends who may have recently built homes–I am probably stalking your pages & stealing your ideas πŸ™‚

I have had several inquires about my house plan so I thought I’d share. I chose to build a friend’s home that I LOVE. It is beautiful!Β It is a good size home–about 2500 square feet. Everything in the house is mainly on the first floor. My master bed/bath, girls’ bedrooms (they each will have their own), the girls’ bathroom (a jack -n- jill type bath), living room, formal dining, breakfast room, laundry, and….my glorious kitchen. Oh I cannot wait to get into this kitchen. Everything will be accessible for Zoe–just in case. Whether she’s a walker or a wheeler, this will be HER home also and so she should know no limits in it. I have widened doorways, am having hardwood throughout, minimizing the thresholds, changed out the girls’ bath to a walk-in shower, and rearranged the placement of a few doorways to help minimize twists and turns in the layout.

One thing I debated on for some time, is what to do with all the space above the garage. The original plan calls for another full bed/bath upstairs. Of course, at Zoe’s age of two, it is impossible to know what her limits will be. At this point, she LOVES nothing more than to try climbing up the stairs to chase after Faith. I finally decided to go ahead and add the extra bedroom to the upstairs. Otherwise, I would have had no extra guest bed/bath, & who knows what the future will hold. Besides, having a set of stairs in our house will be good PT for Zoe,Β  but at least everything else will be downstairs. We made a trip out there today to check on the progress. Won’t be long till footers & foundation are in, and then we will get to watch the frame go up!

Image

My littlest lady–always ready for a photo op πŸ˜‰

Image

It’s impossible to get both girls to smile at the same time–so I don’t even try. I just take the picture πŸ™‚

Lately, I have been thinking about time. How it has taken time and been a process just to get to the point I am at now. It will take time to build my house. Get settled. I am thankful I serve a God who makes all things new–in time.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness & streams in the wasteland.”….Isaiah 43:19

“He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”…Ecclesiastes 3:10-12

I am excited to see where my little family is in time. Three months, six months, a year, or five. I pray that even now God will make things new, and begin a great work that I could not even fathom at this moment.

Onward we go!

Β 

Β 

Leave a Reply

