More

Last year in September was when I first really affiliated myself with the Spina Bifida Association of Kentucky (SBAK).  As Zoe’s birthday got closer, I realized I needed other people in my life who understood our journey. Who got it.

So, since October (Zoe’s birth month!) is also spina bifida awareness month & the SBAK hosts their annual Stroll -n- Roll then, I signed our family up for “Team Zoe,” and we set off on our first fundraiser (aside from the many many many youth fundraisers we’ve done over the years).

We successfully met our goal last year & exceeded it. This year, I hesitated before signing us up again. After all, having a 2 yr old & an almost 12 month old does not lend itself well to free time. But I couldn’t say no, and so Team Zoe was up & running.

One of mine & John’s favorite scripture verses has always been Ephesians 3:20…

Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more

than all we ask or imagine,

according to His power that is at work within us,

to Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout

all generations for ever & ever.

I love the phrase “immeasurably more.” As someone who likes planning & organization, of course that means I like measuring too. I love know exacts. What time, how much, how long, etc.

But to think I serve a God who not only can, but wants to do immeasurably more than I can imagine in my life?

I can’t even begin to understand it.

This year, I posted our link and blogged about Team Zoe. I had NO CLUE how much support we would find.  I received the sweetest message one day from a facebook friend in our hometown of Belfry, Kentucky. Now, keep in mind she has never met Zoe, has no personal connections whatsoever that she should feel obligated to do what she has done.

She offered to host a fundraiser from her home business selling cupcakes, donating the proceeds to Team Zoe.

More than I ever imagined.

Not only that, but as the days have progressed, the orders just keep coming. 5, 10, 15, 25…dozens. Other dear friends, having never met us in person, EVER, are now on board the Team Zoe train, posting & reposting, taking orders, and I do believe we stand an awesome chance of reaching our goal.

Again, more than I imagined.

What on Earth could possess someone to invest so much time, effort, money, and resources into someone they’ve NEVER MET?

It is my great God, once again doing more than I ever imagined on this journey.

Leave a Reply

