The Leaky Cup

Lately I’ve become addicted to google reader. It’s an awesome site that google offers (what DON’T they offer?) that allows you to enter in the site of all your favorite blogs, and it keeps you updated any time one your blogs’ has a new post. I have many blogs that I follow, & I’m always in search for more great ones 🙂

Recently, I came across this quote on a blog I follow that got me thinking….

“The path of God’s love is not without suffering. In fact, those who love more will suffer more.  It is only natural, then, that the comfort we receive from Christ will overflow into the lives of other people (II Cor. 1:3-7). Our goal is to love people more than need them. We are overflowing pitchers, not leaky cups.”
 
~Edward T. Welch When People are Big and God is Small
 
I feel like my mind is always on overdrive. I’m always thinking of what’s next–for our family, our girls, our careers, our future.
 
It can be rather exhausting at times, & I’m trying to focus more on being present in the here & now, rather than wondering & worrying about all the possibilities that may or may not ever come to light.
 
When I read this quote (& re-read it multiple times) I am not sure if I really like it or not. Yes, I believe it is true. By choosing to serve & follow Christ, we give up control of so many things.
 
Our finances. Our resources. Our careers. Our spouses. Our children. 
 
This is the part where I usually become VERY uncomfortable, because if you’ve read my blog for any length of time, you know I like control. I like routine, schedules, to-do lists, planning.
 
I don’t like rocking the boat, and I don’t like following blindly. That’s why this quote scares me a little. Because in my heart, I want to serve Christ, to follow passionately & not live just a mediocre life. I don’t really want the “all-American” dream. Deep down, I want to make an impact. A difference. I want my little family of four to take the road less traveled.
 
I also know that comes with consequences, some of which are not easy. Choices that may seem crazy to the world.
 
This is the part that I fear…
 
“The path of God’s love is not without suffering. In fact, those who love more will suffer more.”
 
But then there is the second verse. The sweet part. The icing in the middle. The part of stepping out blindly in faith to follow a God in whom we cannot figure out or understand…
 
“Yet the path of God’s love is a path that leaves us overflowing. Our cup cannot contain what God bestows on us.”
 
Yes, the first part is hard. We all want our guarantees in life–safety & protection. But this isn’t always the case. But what God DOES do is offer provision. What we need when we need it. And this is what I pray for my family…
 
 
“It is only natural, then, that the comfort we receive from Christ will overflow into the lives of other people (II Cor. 1:3-7). Our goal is to love people more than need them. We are overflowing pitchers, not leaky cups.”
 
 
One thought on “The Leaky Cup

Leave a Reply

