This & that…

March is a big (& crazy!) month here in the Lovell household. Lots of excitement…

Someone should’ve warned me about the terrible two’s. Seriously. It’s like just this month something Β has completely taken over my sweet eldest child. Faith has gone from sweet spirited child to one who literally drops to the floor in full-blown tantrums in a matter of seconds. Add teething to that & you’ve got a bad combo. John & I have racked our brains trying to figure out what to do, are we doing something wrong, etc.

Here’s a sample conversation from tonight while I was preparing dinner…

Me: “Faith, we’re having mashed potatoes for dinner tonight….your favorite!”

Faith: “MASHED POTATOES…..AGHHHH!!” (Drops to the floor screaming for mashed potatoes).

After giving her some mashed potatoes in an effort to maintain peace until dinner was ready, she discovered the canned corn sitting on the countertop.

Faith: “Open corn, open corn….corn stuck! AGHHH!!! (More screaming & dropping to the floor in a dramatic display over corn).

So…if any of you more experienced parents out there have any tips to help us make through the next year & manage the tantrums, I’m totally open for suggestions at this point. Technically, she’s not even two yet! We’ve still got one month to go.

On another note, Zoe is having a big month also.

She got her first pair of glasses, Β to which I must say, make her look even more cute…she’s a total smarty pants baby now if that even exists πŸ˜‰

Zoe will be fitted for her first little ankle splint next week at physical therapy. Her right foot turns in slightly at the ankle, so the splinting will help keep it neutral & after some time she won’t need it anymore. We will move to more firm little ankle braces called ankle-foot orthotics (AFO’s) at that point once she’s ready to start standing. For now, she’ll just wear her new splint at night.

Therapies are going well; we are really focusing on building upper body strength currently. She loves to sit up & look around, but isn’t so much a fan of tummy time. So…we’ve got lots of new objects to try & motivate her more on her belly like exercise balls. She’s also sitting up well in her high chair & is a HUGE fan of oatmeal now that we’ve started solids. I have a feeling she’s about to get a lot more chunky πŸ˜‰

My brother returns from Afganistan sometime this month πŸ™‚ He’s been deployed for a year now, and we are more than ready to have him home. The last time he saw Faith she was about nine months old, & he’s not met Zoe yet. The word from today is that he should be leaving there in the next couple days, so hopefully sometime in the next couple weeks we’ll be able to meet him at the airport for a big family reunion!

That’s it for now-short & sweet…the girls have finally stopped talking in their room & are asleep, so I have learned I must take advantage of the free time to catch up on much-needed sleep!

Good night πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “This & that…

  1. Yes, sleep is good…
    I’ve a whole section on tantrums on my blog, which I add to from time to time. (And two is nothing compared to three 1/2 – just saying!)
    I love to see babies with glasses on – too cute, and I can only imagine how excited you will be to catch up with your brother. Hope the time until he’s home safe goes qucikly. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi, my name is Ashley and I’m a mother of 2. My oldest child is a 6 year old girl named Jaylynn and my youngest is my almost 3 year old boy named Hunter.
    Heh Heh Heh… let me tell you.
    Hunter’s tantrums didn’t start until he was a few months past the 2 year mark. You know, just long enough for me to start bragging about how my angel was just breezing through the terrible two’s πŸ™‚ He throws fits over the craziest stuff. Depending on the situation you can try to trick them into thinking that what you wanted them to do was really their idea in the first place, try to calm them down without giving into ridiculous demands, or you can just let them scream it out.

    If it’s a before-dinner situation he’s learned that cry and scream and kick as he might he’s just going to have to wait ’cause mama doesn’t bow to tyrants. especially not pint sized ones. πŸ™‚ I try to use a low pitch tone and infuse it with as much athority as I can without sounding like I’m scolding. That’s really all you can do. They will go in and out of these phases quicker than you can bat an eye. Just when you think you’re in the clear here they’ll come again πŸ™‚

    And honestly, I’d almost take my sons tantrums over my daughters smart mouth….. πŸ™‚ It never ends πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

