When it rains, it pours…

It’s been one of those weeks. Or two. You know the kind I’m talking about. That week where it seems nothing is going as planned. One of those weeks when it rains it pours. Or maybe comes a torrential downpour if it’s been like mine lately. Here’s my week in recap (in no particular order):

  • The trailblazer died which = costly repairs
  • We lost two trees in the front yard during a thunderstorm which = big expense to remove!
  • Our hot water pipe burst at 11 pm the night before a Monday which = who knows how much $$$
  • Faith’s cutting ALL her teeth at once, been sick & a bit cranky 😦
  • We’ve had at least one doctor’s visit every week for someone in the family all month
  • Work has been extra busy for both John & I

It’s been a bit of a struggle for me to not feel a bit like Job. Most of it is me feeling sorry for myself. On top of all of this, Zoe is due in eight weeks via c-section and on one hand, I can’t wait to meet her, yet on the other, I’m terrified and nervous about having a c-section.

Don’t get me wrong-I’m very thankful John & I can afford to repair our vehicle, remove trees from our yard, & have the insurance to cover doctor’s appointments. I’m thankful God has given us jobs we love and enable us to provide for our family. I think it’s just human nature to think “why me” when it feels you are drawing the short end of every stick.

I am reminded through all of this that none of this matters much in the long-run. A broken pipe can be fixed. A sick baby can be soothed. Cars can be repaired. Trees taken away. Every job has its good days & bad.

So this week, in the middle of all our chaos (i.e., life) I think of Job. He lost everything he had. His home. His possessions. His health. His family. Yet, in the middle of all of his chaos, he still could say…

The Lord gave & the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.”

Job 1:21

I have to remember nothing I have in this life in truly my own anyway. I am simply a steward of all God has blessed me with. My home, my possessions, my career, my family. Everything belongs to Him & is His to do as He sees fit. It is my responsibility to care for what He’s given me, and trust that He will provide.

May the name of the Lord be praised.

Even with a busted water pipe at 11 pm the night before a hectic Monday morning 😦

Leave a Reply

