My current theme verse…

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about parenting. As the weeks go by and we get closer to adding Zoe to our family, it crosses my mind so often of what kind of mom I am. And what are John & I really teaching our girls? It seems so much of parenting is retrospective-you don’t really know how well you did until you look back & it’s too late.

One of my biggest fears is that I don’t want to look back on this journey (because I know we only have our kids for a season before they leave!) with regret. I don’t want Faith and Zoe (and any more that we may add later 😉 ) to just remember growing up with a mom & dad who were not present. Who worked too much. Loved too little. Focused more on money than relationships. Or put the kids first before each other (yes, I am a firm believer that my spouse comes before my kids!). I want our kids to see a healthy marriage. To see parents who love & serve the Lord.

I want my kids to know Christ. Not just know about him.

Yesterday I came across this verse. It sort of struck me that if I had to pick a “theme” verse for this journey John & I are on of raising daughters right now, this could be it. I think I may add it to my collection of index-card verses I have placed strategically around my bathroom for reminders 🙂

30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.

I know my girls will never get this unless we as their parents model it for them. So this is my new theme verse. I don’t care if my girls ever win beauty pageants, are captain of the cheerleading squad, win most popular senior superlative, graduate valedictorian, etc. Although there is nothing wrong with these (and valedictorian=college scholarship!).

But these things are temporary. Not the goal. I want my girls to love the Lord. Even when it hurts. To serve him. Even if it means their plans are a little different than they expected. To realize that this life is not it. There’s more.

So that’s why Proverbs 31:30 is my new theme for now. I think it sums it up nicely. I just need to find an index card to write it on 😉

Leave a Reply

