Zoe’s Big Opportunity!

Since we received the news of our baby girl Zoe’s diagnosis of spina bifida, I have felt like a momma on the prowl at times. I have researched, called, studied, and reviewed practically everything I could get my hands on to learn as much as I can about this condition & how it’s treated (big surprise considering my type A tendencies 🙂 ) I am now amazed at how little I really knew about spina bifida, despite working as a healthcare provider.

When we first received “the news,” I decided that everyone has issues & problems to deal with in life, we just know a little earlier what some of Zoe’s may be! I also knew then that John & I would do everything necessary to provide her with opportunities & resources to grow & thrive; to be all God wants her to be!

My prayer is that Zoe would grow up to realize spina bifida is just a small part of who she is, and that God has made her into so much more with some pretty awesome plans for her life just as He has for Faith’s as well (and all of us, for that matter!).

Even while I was still dealing with the initial shock of that first ultrasound, I somehow stumbled upon an amazing group who has stood by us in support & continues to provide us with amazing resources to help not just Zoe, but our entire family. The Spina Bifida Association of Kentucky (SBAK) has been & continues to be an awesome organization for support to families like ours, even from the beginning.

The day after we had that first life-changing ultrasound, even while I was still trying to process the news, I had the opportunity to speak with someone from the SBAK. She, too is a mother of a child with spina bifida, and you can never know how encouraging it is to hear someone tell you that yes, things will be okay and it will get easier. That was the first time anyone had actually told me that kids with spina bifida are just normal kids with a few added challenges, and that we will be amazed at all the things Zoe will accomplish!

Our baby girl Zoe has the very unique opportunity to be the only unborn participant in the SBAK’s annual Stroll & Roll Fundraiser in September! You can click the link here to see Zoe’s first web page, and have the opportunity to contribute to an awesome organization that has helped us so much! We are so thankful for all the prayers, love & support we have received from our friends & family; if you are looking for a great cause to contribute to, this is IT! All donations are tax-deductible, and 100% of the proceeds go to the SBAK to help them continue their amazing work.

How neat it will one day be to explain to Zoe that she was a participant even before birth for such a great cause that has helped our family so much!

One thought on “Zoe’s Big Opportunity!

Leave a Reply

