Unfinished story…

Growing up in church, I’ve always been very familiar with this story:

I’m sure you’ve probably heard it too…Shadrach, Meshach & Abednego thrown into the fiery furnace & lives to tell the tale. We’ve heard it at Vacation Bible Schools, Sunday Schools, & plastered on flannel boards.

But this week, I’ve gained a new perspective. A new appreciation for the three men who stepped out on faith & were obedient to a God of whom they were uncertain would save them from the flames.

This particular passage has spoken volumes to me this week:

16 Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to the king, “O Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. 17 If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to save us from it, and he will rescue us from your hand, O king. 18 But even if he does not, we want you to know, O king, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”

I realized this week that far too often, I tend to forget the words “but even if he does not.” We often overlook the fact that Shadrach, Meshach & Abednego use the words “…the God we serve is able.” They don’t claim God will spare their lives, only that he can.

This week at Fuge, God has been very sweet to make this idea of obedience clear to me. So many times in my Christian life, I’ve claimed to know Christ & to serve Him, but is it because I truly love Him or only because of what I may get out of it-to benefit myself? The truth is, being obedient to what God calls us to do is not easy. It is the hard road.

It would be easier to walk away.

I have became calloused to so many of the scriptures over time. I forget that Abraham didn’t know for certain God would spare his son Isaac. Jonah wasn’t convinced God would save him when he was thrown overboard. Mary had no clue she would be revered by the world as the mother of Christ. We see these things, but we’ve read the end of their stories.

I learned this week I haven’t came to end of my story.

God is choosing to have John & I journey down the spina bifida road with our family. There are a lot of unknowns.

Yes, he is a God who is able to heal Zoe. But even if he does not, we will serve him. He is sovereign. One day we’ll realize how He is using this time in our family.

Until then, our family’s story just keeps moving along 🙂

One thought on “Unfinished story…

  1. Oh, I can identify with this! All during Rick’s illness and even though God chose to take him home and leave me here, I still serve an awesome God! That still, small voice keeps saying “trust me” even now!

    This scripture is dear to me as well!
    “For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

    Though I must go on without Rick, I am assured that one day I WILL see him again.

    Thanks, Hillary. You are an inspiration, you, John, Faith and baby Zoe remain in my prayers. Love you.

Leave a Reply

