Unexpected Blessings

May 31, 2010.

In just one week, I feel like God has shown up in the craziest of places to make His presence known to me. It’s been totally amazing. I’ve received so much encouragement, affirmation & love from friends, family, & even strangers from across the world (the internet is a marvelous tool!).

Below is just a copy of a message I received from a 39 year-old woman I’ve never physically met who was born with spina bifida,  is now married & working with two kids. Her message was just one of the many ways I felt God’s presence in what has become the most difficult week of my life.

“There is so much hope for kids with SB now…and this group will stand with you as you face the hard times. But know this…..God alone gives and creates life – and in that moment there is NO mistake. He already has purpose and a plan for your child. And He chose you and your husband to be this child’s parents – because He knows that you both are PERFECTLY the gift this child needs.”

Hope came to John & I the moment we realized the meaning of Faith’s middle name Alexandra was “she who defends.” Crazy as it sounds, we never knew the meaning of her middle name until this week.

Peace came from receiving a special book from a family member about raising daughters I almost bought the day before. He’d had this book stored away for months, unaware we were having a second daughter, but had forgotten about it until this week. Again, perfect timing when I needed it most.

Encouragement came from letters, phone calls, & messages from women I’ve never met from all over the country, all of whom are raising a child with spina bifida and wanted to encourage me that things do get better. Life goes on. Miracles will be witnessed. Our family will thrive. We will experience God’s work in a way many may never know or understand.  And we will be thankful for this new addition & wonder what we ever did without her.

Yes, I still have moments of doubt. Fear. Worry. Uncertainty.

But God is faithful. He is sovereign. In control.

John & I came to a crossroad this past week. To trust or not to trust. To embrace God’s plan or to reject it.

Thankfully, His mercies are new every morning. And we will press on toward the goal.

2 thoughts on “Unexpected Blessings

  1. You are amazing! I know God must smile to see you be such an example to others. I had goose bumps the whole time I read this entry. I love when we realize all the things God has been putting together without our knowledge. He truly is an awesome God! I love you and am lifting you and your sweet family up daily. See you soon!

  2. Hillary, you are an encouragement to us all with your perspective and optimism. Lord be with you on your journey. 🙂

Leave a Reply

