Seeking to Simplify

Having kids & being married to a youth pastor often means most of my Sundays/Wednesdays are tied up in childcare, which doesn’t lend itself well to being involved in small group bible studies, especially when my main alternative source of childcare (the grandparents!) are also involved in teaching/leading small groups on these same nights. It can become easy to feel drained-spiritually, emotionally, & physically.

With that said, I decided to start a study on my own. It’s been a long time since I’ve done one, but I couldn’t pass up this opportunity. This study fits perfectly into my busy, chaotic life:

This particular study is actually one that our MCC church staff recently started together. After hearing about it from my husband & after searching around for other Bible studies, I knew I had to take part in this one. It’s exactly where I’m at in my life.

Focusing on four primary issues we all deal with in life-time, relationships, money & God, this month-long study uses four key components to help evaluate your life & simplify it within a Godly perspective-clarity, movement, alignment, & focus. I am finding it to be both spiritually challenging as well as practical to my everyday life.

We all long for a “simple life.” To rid ourselves of chaos, busyness, stress,etc. To spend more quality time with our spouses, our kids, our God. To have more free time. To manage our finances well. To take time to give to others. To find time to serve.

But how do you do all these things well & feel as though you’re living your life to its fullest potential & being as effective as you can possibly be?

You have to simplify.

So that’s what I’m trying to do!

Leave a Reply

