The Christmas “It”

On Christmas morning, John & I spent time wondering exactly what we did last year for Christmas. I know we celebrated the birth of Jesus, ate lots of dinners, & exchanged gifts. But for some reason, it is all a hazy memory compared to this year’s festivities.

Perhaps that’s because our brains haven’t adjusted to the change in our sleep habits since having a baby, but maybe it is more than that. This Christmas, I realized there is just something different about celebrating the holiday with a little one. I can’t pinpoint it, but it’s there. And whatever it is, is awesome! This “it” motivated John & I to get up early on Christmas morning, make a big breakfast, play Christmas music, & drink hot chocolate. We played Santa, putting out Faith’s big toys under the tree, took stock in C & D batteries, and lounged around in our festive pj’s all day.

Is “it” the Christmas spirit? I don’t know.

I admit though-I’m a  little sad it’s over.

    Here’s a pic I snapped of Faith checking out her first ever Christmas gift left under the tree from “Santa.”

 Looking back, 2009 has been a great year for the Lovells. God has blessed us so much more than we deserve. I am excited to see what He has planned for us in 2010.

And honestly, I can’t wait till next Christmas!

Leave a Reply

