It’s Christmas… & we’re all in misery!

So for those of you who may think I’ve dropped off the planet, or at least the blogging world-think again. It’s Christmas, and that always equals chaos. Especially since this is our daughter’s first Christmas ever, we have had what seems like a million trips, conferences, family visits, dinners, and more during the past month. Being at home is now considered a rare luxury in my book šŸ™‚

On our latest six hour journey today to my grandparents’ home, I was reminded of the movie “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation.” It will always be my favorite Christmas movie of all time! If you haven’t seen it, let me highly recommend it!

Every year, my family gathers in Tennessee to celebrate altogether, and the chaos that is sure to ensue is somewhat similar to the Griswolds’ family Christmas. We have burning food, smoke alarms, kids sneaking into Christmas presents, attempting to cram the entire family into a tiny living room family photo, etc. After that, it’s more packing, driving, unpacking, rinse & repeat!

Despite the chaos of the season, I have to say, I LOVE it! I love every second from trying to figure out when to find time to decorate and bake, to somehow managing to finish my Christmas shopping. I love the conversations John & I get to have in the car as we travel these long distances, taking Faith to meet new family members, turkey dinners, warm pajamas, fireplaces, & hot chocolate on frigid mornings as we wait to open gifts together. I love the sight of snow falling, knowing I’m off work an extra day for the holiday, and holding my baby snuggled up in her fleece Christmas jammies.

This season has always been such a special time of year forĀ  me, and though I joke about our fun, old fashioned family Christmas, the truth is, I wouldn’t have it any other way. Celebrating our sweet Savior’s birth throughout this seasonĀ alongside my family is one of my most favorite things, and I am savoring every moment!

What do you enjoy most about this time of year?

Leave a Reply

