Trying to Embrace Change!

Last night John & I decided to attend a local church revival here in town…a sort of spur-of-the-moment, we’ve-got-a-babysitter sort of deal. I was excited because sometimes I miss being able to sit through a church service without having to keep a baby quiet, or make a quick exit to the nursery because Faith decides to “talk” to random objects/people she sees.

Let me preface by saying, most of my life I have hated change. I get stressed when we rearrange the living room. I despise moving. I dread the thought of ever switching jobs again. Something about dealing with the new and unknown makes me very uncomfortable.

The speaker last night mentioned something that has made me totally rethink my perspective:

Our God is a God of change!

The more I think about this, the more I realize it is true. God changes US, from the very moment we give our lives to him. He works to make us more like Him, He never wants us to stay the way we are. He can take all circumstances and work them for His good (Romans 8:28). He makes us a new creation (2nd Corinthians 5:17).

So now I’m thinking, if our God loves change so much, why shouldn’t I? It’s part of who I am!

What about you? How do you feel about change?

4 thoughts on “Trying to Embrace Change!

  1. Hillary,

    Sometimes its kinda nice to be able to attend a service and be a spectator/worshiper. I don’t know about you and John, but it seems like all too often we are expected to be doing certain things during services. I rarely do what you did last night. When I do go to listen to someone speak at a different church it’s almost like going to a conference. I get my batteries recharged and I get ready for the next week. I feel fed is a better way to put it. So glad you got some food lat night too!

  2. Hillary, thanks so much for sharing this. I totally understand where you come from, I am also very fearful and resistant to change. But I have to remember how much God changed me, from that moment I accepted Christ. And he continues to change me and my life every single day! What a great message, I’m so glad you chose to share it on here.

Leave a Reply

