It’s All New!

So here goes…my very first blog. And I have NO clue what I’m doing! Kind of like my life I guess…that’s why I decided to name my blog “just figuring it out.” Most days that is all I am doing, just a fly by the seat of my pants kind of deal. I guess a formal introduction should make it a little easier to understand what I’m talking about so here goes:

My name is Hillary; I am a 27 year old woman of many roles…wife, mother, daughter, Christian, friend, nurse practitioner, youth worker, etc. I have been married for 7 glorious years (yes, it really has been great, no sarcasm intended!) and just as my husband and I start to figure out the marriage thing we decide it would be nice to add a baby to our family of me, hubby, and our dog Murphy. Well, six months ago our daughter Faith arrived. It was the best day of my life! There are no words to describe the feeling of holding your very own child for the first time with your husband beside you, knowing you are about to embark on the greatest, scariest challenge of all-time.

So fast forward six months and here we are. And I still feel clueless. Yes, I have become a pro at diaper changing, nursing, soothing, and the day-to-day routine of motherhood. But what everyone failed to mention are the details…the emotional rollercoaster ride I’d be on, how attached I’d feel to my child, how guilty I’d feel for working or having to spend time apart, how I’d question every decision I make, how much I worry now over mostly things I have no control over. So I just figure it out as I go.

Mainly the reason I’ve decided to blog is because I have so many thoughts running through my mind that I need an outlet for. But then as I log on, I’m overwhelmed by all the gadgets, widgets, dashboards, etc. It was a feat in itself that I managed to set up my profile! So, again, just figuring it out as I go.

Figuring things out as I go along is my new theme I suppose. It’s working and I’m not messing with it.

 

What things do you “figure out” as you go?

 NashVegas Trip 190

5 thoughts on “It’s All New!

  1. Hey Hillary…I love your blog already…and for the record….all of us who are mothers have ” just figured it out minute by minute.” Experience is the greatest teacher and love is the main ingredient for raising a wonderful child. You are already way ahead of the game with that one! Faith is in good hands because you are a dedicated chrisitan and a woman desiring to do the will of God. You are such a blessing to your family and I know that your Mom is so proud….and your Dad….he must be smiling from above 🙂

  2. So true Hillary! I was reading your post thinking, yep, yep, yep, that’s me too. It is really difficult to balance all of our roles, but as you said, so worth it! Sounds like you do have it figured out…by figuring it out one day at a time.

  3. Hillary,

    I love your writing style and so look forward to reading your posts! This journey we’re on as parents is not always easy and it’s so nice to know we’re not alone, and then to rejoice together on the good days!

    My biggest figuring it out as I go = parenting.

    I thought being the oldest of 8 kids and practically raising several of the younger ones would have prepared me for this, but I was wrong. Sure, there are the little things, like what to do when they’re sick, how to change diapers, etc, but the day to day attitudes, the 24/7 toddler talk, the lack of adult interaction from being a stay at home mom, the nightmares of a two year old and his fear… and the love. The amazing, wonderful, breathtaking feeling that envelops mommy when her little one says I love you Mommy!

    There are days when I question: God, are you sure I was supposed to be a mother? Because I’m not feeling very good at this right now!!! Thank goodness for tiny hugs as powerful as ocean waves, baby kisses delicate as flower petals, and helping hands the size of cookies!!

    • Erica,

      Thanks for your comments, it’s very sweet of you! I am still very new to this whole blogging thing but I am loving wordpress! Just trying to figure it out-it can be quite confusing!

      Yes, parenting is my big challenge but I love it. Faith’s sweet smile makes all the challenge worthwhile! Glad to know I’m not alone in the journey!

Leave a Reply

